Seek Righteousness, Seek Humility

…seek righteousness, seek humility;
Zephaniah 2:3b

I have been making my plodding, repetitive trek through God’s Message for 35 years. One of the fascinating things I’ve experienced is the way in which it always seems to meet me right where I am on life’s road. The Message doesn’t change, but I change and my waypoint in the journey changes each time I return to a book, chapter, or verse. I get something new out of it each time.

Like most Americans, I’m finding myself caught off guard by our current political landscape. I’ve never experienced anything like it in and find myself daily scratching my head at the headlines and Presidential polls. A trash-talking, ego-driven reality t.v. celebrity who says things that would get any middle schooler running for Student Council expelled is one of our leading candidates. Amazing.

Perhaps that is why Zephaniah’s admonishment leapt off the page at me this morning. I acutely feel a desire to find more individuals on every gradient of the political spectrum who honestly and sincerely are seeking to do the right thing while at the same time seeking humility in their quest. It’s easy to find arrogance. It’s easy to find insults hurled at others. It’s easy to find trash talking and people screaming at each other (at the same time) from opposite sides of the issues. We have these things in abundance.

Today, what I seek are individuals willing to have respectful dialogue, willing to humbly listen to other opinions, willing to agree to disagree, and willing to hammer out compromises. Of course, I cannot control Presidential candidates or news channels or others. I can only control my own thoughts, words, actions and relationships. So I will continue to seek to do the right thing, and persevere in choosing humility.

chapter a day banner 2015

Featured image: gageskidmore via Flickr

5 thoughts on “Seek Righteousness, Seek Humility”

  1. I can almost hear Trump saying: “humility? Let me say…humility is great. You know? Let me tell you something. I love you humility. I got humility. In spades. Humility will make America great again. And these other guys? They don’t have humility like I got humility. I have got humility. And you know something? Of all my experiences, of all my qualities…andlet metellyou, I got a lot of qualities…humility is my greatest quality. I’m just sayin’….”

  2. Good post, Tom. I just heard a news clip of Mr. Rubio stating regret for personal attacks on other candidates. “My kids were embarrassed of me”. Interesting.

  3. 1-2 So get yourselves together. Shape up!
    You’re a nation without a clue about what it wants.
    Do it before you’re blown away
    like leaves in a windstorm,
    Before God’s Judgment-anger
    sweeps down on you,
    Before God’s Judgment Day wrath
    descends with full force.

    Hmmmmmm. Enough said?

Leave a Reply

