Chapter-a-Day Jeremiah 8

Australian give way at roundabout sign
Image via Wikipedia

So why does this people go backward,
   and just keep on going—backward!
They stubbornly hold on to their illusions,
   refuse to change direction. Jeremiah 8:5 (MSG)

It takes little or no courage to continue living in the same unhealthy patterns. We perpetuate cycles and systems that drain life from our souls because it’s what we know and there is fear doing anything different. The unknown terrifies us more than the muck in which we find ourselves wading each day.

Yet if it is Life we wish to experience in abundant and increasing measure, than a change of direction is required. Illusions to which we have firmly grasped must be released, old patterns of thought and behavior must be left behind, and new relational systems must be established.

When we walk with Jesus, old things must surely pass away. New things must surely come.

Enhanced by Zemanta

2 thoughts on “Chapter-a-Day Jeremiah 8”

  1. Look at them! They know everything but God’s Word.
    Do you call that “knowing”?

    We are surrounded by people, it seems, who know it all. People who are experts in their career or field. People who know how to parent your kid better than you do. People who know the best way to do…….. Lately, I have been amazed how people try to do everything and know everything on their own. I do the same sometimes. Reading the Message and seeking God’s counsel along with Christian help and accountability can steer us down such a better path. So why do we selfish humans try it alone? I’m not sure, but I am thankful for the people in my life who walk this journey with me, who support and encourage me, who keep me accountable to God’s plan for my life and for whom I can do the same. I love you all.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.