Chapter-a-Day 2 Chronicles 26


But then the strength and success went to his head. Arrogant and proud, he fell. One day, contemptuous of God, he walked into The Temple of God like he owned it and took over, burning incense on the Incense Altar. 2 Chronicles 26:16 (MSG)

There is an order to things. God is a God of detail and order. It’s one of the reasons I really like Bach, Handel, and other baroque music. There is a symmetry and order to the music. It reminds me of God’s left brain in the midst of the chaos we make of His creation.

There was an order to things. It’s back to the archetypes I mentioned a few chapters back. Kings and Priests had different functions. They each performed a unique role. Kings aren’t Priests and Priests aren’t Kings. When Uzziah broke rank and tried to take the priestly role by force bad things happened.

I look back over my life and see so much of myself in Uzziah’s actions: Refusing to rest in the order God created; Discontent; Wanting to be what I’m not created to be. Snubbing the role God’s given me on life’s stage because I want someone else’s spotlight.

Today, I’m seeking to rest in that natural order of things. I’m celebrating the role God’s given me in this life and place He’s given me. I’m enjoying God’s left-brain.

(Enjoy a little Bach with me!)

About Tom Vander Well

Wayfarer, husband, father, consultant, thespian, writer, thinker, and back porch musician. Pressing on through the journey one step at a time.
This entry was posted in Chapter-a-Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chapter-a-Day 2 Chronicles 26

  1. KR says:

    16-18 But then the strength and success went to his head. Arrogant and proud, he fell.

    Uzziah had it all. Life was glorious, easy, successful. Then he let it get to his head. I sometimes wonder if I was too arrogant and proud about my last job. Why did God take it from me? I loved it. I was good at it. I really have been struggling lately to know God’s plan for my life. I pray today God, that you make it abudantly clear to me where you want me to serve.

Leave a Reply

