Chapter-a-Day Job 14

Spring has sprung! If we humans die, will we live again? That's my question. All through these difficult days I keep hoping, waiting for the final change—for resurrection! Job 14:14 (MSG)

It's spring as I write this. April showers are falling, and the tulips are up and waiting for a little sunshine before they explode open in a palette of bright colors. Today is my 43rd birthday. It's a good day.

You start thinking about things differently when you begin to realize that actuaries would statistically quantify that you're over half-way done with this life. There are no guarantees, of course. Today could be it. There could be the proverbial Mack truck with my name on it rolling down Highway 63. However, the actuaries would lay odds that I'm really in the back stretch of this race. It still means that there are, most likely, fewer days ahead of me on this Earth than there are behind.

I read Job's despair, his questions, and his hopelessness. It makes me happy for spring. It makes me thankful for new life springing up from winter's death march. It makes me abundantly joyous that Jesus answered Job's question once and for all:

Jesus said to her, "I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in me will live, even though he dies; John 11:25 (MSG)

Creative Commons photo courtesy of Flickr and Russ Morris

About Tom Vander Well

Wayfarer, husband, father, consultant, thespian, writer, thinker, and back porch musician. Pressing on through the journey one step at a time.
This entry was posted in Chapter-a-Day. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chapter-a-Day Job 14

  1. kr says:

    Body and soul, that’s it for us—
    a lifetime of pain, a lifetime of sorrow.”
    Life feels this way most days, doesn’t it? Ironically that is NOT how God designed it. Can you imagine living in the Garden of Eden? That picture is pretty far from pain and sorrow. It always amazes me the level of detail in God’s story of salvation. A perfect beginning….a fallen world….a perfect Savior. It’s the circle of life!

Leave a Reply

