Chapter-a-Day John 11

He said these things, and then announced, "Our friend Lazarus has fallen asleep. I’m going to wake him up." John 11:11 (TM)

When my "Grandma Golly" died, the girls were only 3 or 4 years old. My nephews, Sam and Sol, were the same ages. We had been at the funeral home for the long hours of visitation the evening before the funeral. There had been a steady stream of visitors, friends and family throughout the evening to share in our grief.

Like most toddlers, the reason for the occasion was lost on the girls and their male cousins who took the opportunity to tear around the funeral home playing together. Late in the evening is was quiet in the visitation room as most everyone but family and a few dear friends had departed.

My nephew Solomon, ripping around the room in a playful fury, stopped short right in front of the casket. He looked at the body of his great grandmother lying there. He looked at his wrist (where there was no watch), and then shouted at the top of his lungs for all to hear…

"IT’S TIME FOR GRANDMA TO WAKE UP!"

…If you only have faith as a little child.

About Tom Vander Well

Wayfarer, husband, father, consultant, thespian, writer, thinker, and back porch musician. Pressing on through the journey one step at a time.
This entry was posted in Chapter-a-Day. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chapter-a-Day John 11

  1. KR says:

    33-34When Jesus saw her sobbing and the Jews with her sobbing, a deep anger welled up within him. He said, “Where did you put him?”
    I have read this story countless times in my life, but today I caught a tone from Jesus that I don’t remember before. There are two references in this passage about Jesus’ anger. It struck me that Mary and other’s lack of faith made Jesus angry. Does He get angry when I lack faith? The more scripture I read the more personal Jesus’ attributes are to me. The relationship is so very personal.

Leave a Reply

