A Kind & Grateful Endeavor

thank you note

(Photo credit: George Cheng)

So, my dear brothers and sisters, be strong and immovable. Always work enthusiastically for the Lord, for you know that nothing you do for the Lord is ever useless. 1 Corinthians 15:58 (NLT)

I am always encouraged and surprised when someone posts a comment or personally shares with me that one of my blog posts was significant for them in some way. As we are reminded at the end of today’s chapter, it’s heartening to know that in God’s economy the things we do are never useless. They compound spiritual interest in ways we may not notice but are nonetheless of eternal significance.

This morning I’m taking from this particular thought two motivational nuggets for the new year:

  1. I endeavor to consciously do more random acts of kindness, exhibit more generosity, and love others more tangibly.
  2. I endeavor to tell others when their own words or actions have impacted me, send more thank you notes, and express genuine gratitude for others.

About Tom Vander Well

Wayfarer, husband, father, consultant, thespian, writer, thinker, and back porch musician. Pressing on through the journey one step at a time.
This entry was posted in Chapter-a-Day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Kind & Grateful Endeavor

  1. KR says:

    3I passed on to you what was most important and what had also been passed on to me. Christ died for our sins, just as the Scriptures said.

    This chapter is loaded with great information and much to contemplate, but the verse above I couldn’t get out of my mind. As I rest in my hotel, away from family, I can’t stop thinking that of all the things I am teaching my young children, the most important is that Christ died for our sins. I HAVE taught them this, but I am reminded tonight that all of the other things I try to teach my kids, while also important, cannot overshadow the life and death of Christ.

Leave a Reply

