Chapter-a-Day 1 Thessalonians 2

Yes, you are our pride and joy. 1 Thessalonians 2:20 (NLT)

Yesterday afternoon I walked into the kitchen to find Wendy putting all of the family photos we’ve received on the refrigerator. We love that our fridge is covered with photos of loved ones. It has been fun for the two of us to pour through the load of Christmas letters we’ve received.

Yesterday I talked about how encouraged I was to know that my children and family are faithfully serving God in their own journeys. Today is, I guess, a variation on a theme. As I read how Paul considered the believers in Thessalonica his “pride and joy” I thought of the family photos on my fridge. Faces I knew as squirrelly teenagers now are starting to line with age as their own children grow. Friends who walked with me in my own squirrelly years are grandparents and spread out doing amazing things for God’s kingdom.

This is going to sound terribly old of me. But, as I continue in my own journey, I begin to realize that there are certain passages of God’s Message that don’t come into focus until you reach a certain place in your own journey. Today’s thought is something like that. I don’t think I’ve ever thought much about Paul’s “pride and joy” until I reached a point where I could turn around and look back myself and those in whom I can feel that same sense.

About Tom Vander Well

Wayfarer, husband, father, consultant, thespian, writer, thinker, and back porch musician. Pressing on through the journey one step at a time.
This entry was posted in Chapter-a-Day and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chapter-a-Day 1 Thessalonians 2

  1. KR says:

    Our purpose is to please God, not people. He alone examines the motives of our hearts.

    Last night we had a long discussion with our host-daughter. She is involved in some drama where others girls have spread rumor about her. We ultimately landed on the fact that our purpose is to please God, tell the truth and then stand tall in spite of any criticism. It’s also a good lesson in who really is a true friend. My heart hurts for her though.

Leave a Reply

