Chapter-a-Day 2 Chronicles 3

The right pillar he named Jakin (Security) and the left pillar he named Boaz (Stability). 2 Chronicles 3:17 (MSG)

As I read the description of Solomon’s temple with all of its ornate construction filled with precious metals, I can’t help but remember that God created a new paradigm with the death and resurrection of his Son, Jesus. No longer would he dwell in a temple made of woood and metal, but in the hearts of those who believe. “Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God?” 1 Corinthians 6:19 (NIV).

If my body is a temple of the God of creation, then how precious it is. I read today’s chapter, I read of the two giant pillars named “security” and “stability” and I think of the pillars in my own life. I not only think of God, who is my rock and fortress, but also of my parents, my grandparents, my wife, my family, my mentors, and my dearest friends. My temple stands fast with strong and faithful pillars. Without them, my life would have completely fallen apart long ago.

Today, I’m thankful for those in my life on whom I can and do depend; grateful for the pillars of this temple I can aptly name “safety” and “security.”

Creative Commons photo courtesy of Flickr and J.W. Photography

About Tom Vander Well

Wayfarer, husband, father, consultant, thespian, writer, thinker, and back porch musician. Pressing on through the journey one step at a time.
This entry was posted in Chapter-a-Day and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chapter-a-Day 2 Chronicles 3

  1. Cindy B says:

    How Firm A Foundation is running through my head….the Chief of all Cornerstones, and yet a stumbling block to those without the light shed by the Holy Spirit. Praise Him for His mercy, gracious kindness and goodness to us.

Leave a Reply

