Chapter-a-Day Isaiah 28

Tom & girls at the lake 0709And at the harvest, the delicate herbs and spices, the dill and cumin, are treated delicately. On t he other hand, wheat is threshed and milled, but still not endlessly. The farmer knows how to treat each kind of grain. Isaiah 28:27-28 (MSG)

In the past few years I've had to adjust to the idea of my children leaving the nest. Now that the reality is here, I'm finding it an interesting and challenging new leg in life's journey. Stepping out on their own, you see them stumble, only you're not right there to reach out and catch them. You'd be happy to point out the pot-hole that's right in front of them (which you've twisted your own ankle on many times before), but they must learn the walk the road themselves.

Parenting fledgling adults is more difficult than I imagined. These emerging individuals are infinitely more complex than when they were little, and parenting is no longer a black-and-white world of authority & submission. When they are children you simply tell them to take your hand and you lead them. Now, they are traversing life's obstacle course blindfolded and you occasionally get to whisper hints and directions in their ear (though, of course, there's no guarantee they will listen). When do you speak? When do you stay silent? When do you prod? When do you sit on your hands? And, then there's the added intricacies of dealing with differences between children.

I'm gaining greater respect for God who knows how to approach each of His children, the way He knows how to treat each kind of grain. I'm in awe of God, the Father.

About Tom Vander Well

Wayfarer, husband, father, consultant, thespian, writer, thinker, and back porch musician. Pressing on through the journey one step at a time.
This entry was posted in Chapter-a-Day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chapter-a-Day Isaiah 28

  1. kr says:

    13So God will start over with the simple basics
    and address them in baby talk, one syllable at a time—
    “Da, da, da, da,
    blah, blah, blah, blah.
    That’s a good little girl,
    that’s a good little boy.”
    And like toddlers, they will get up and fall down,
    get bruised and confused and lost.
    It’s not easy to admit that you act like a baby sometimes. I am admitting it here. I think I am a toddler by now, maybe in my pre-teens, but I seem to fall down and get bruised alot. I’m glad that God can accept that and grow me up. I wish I would mature a bit faster, but his patience in me is a good lesson for me as I father my children.

  2. Matthew Burch says:

    Tom,
    God the Master Gardener. Is not that the truth. I have found that where we have been stuck in our own personal lives is where we will be stuck parenting our child. Thank God for not being stuck. He sees the entire project through regardless of our stuckness.

  3. God bless us all in the midst of our stuckness. Thanks for the comments, guys!

Leave a Reply

