Chapter-a-Day Romans 12

Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking. Instead, fix your attention on God. Romans 12:2a (TM)

It’s funny sometimes how the Holy Spirit orchestrates moments of synchronicity around my daily chapter. Yesterday, after church, Wendy and I were talking to Charlie Koopman – the new worship leader at our church. He was talking about some of his visions for worship and one of them was to "influence our culture". Then I read this morning’s chapter, and I’m asking myself…

…am I influencing my culture more than I’m being influenced by it?

About Tom Vander Well

Wayfarer, husband, father, consultant, thespian, writer, thinker, and back porch musician. Pressing on through the journey one step at a time.
This entry was posted in Chapter-a-Day. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chapter-a-Day Romans 12

  1. Mark True says:

    Tom:
    I’m just getting back into Holy Ambition, by Chip Ingram, and he’s discussion a dislocated heart. He described me so well…just rolling along in my environment with little or no reaction to the hurt that’s going on in far away places. I imagine it doesn’t even have to be that far away.
    Chip uses Romans 9:1-4 to describe Paul’s disolated heart. It convicted me in a big way.
    -Mark

  2. Thanks for the recommendation, Mark!

Leave a Reply

